Liz Lotz & Plates

Artists Develop Art Making Skills:

What new techniques or processes have you learned? How did you apple it to your work?

I really liked the new technique we did to create the plates. It was really cool to create the plate out of a slab and then use the base to make a coil. It was interesting to look at the pictures we took and use them to add to a plate of an unidentified image. It was like a puzzle to create all the different pieces with different textures and then attach them to the plate in all different places to resemble the pictures we took.

How did you increase you skill with familiar materials or techniques?

I can use this technique of taking pictures around me and zooming in on them to find different shapes and shadows. By finding different images of normal things, but only creating a pottery piece of only a specific part of the overall picture was really interesting. I liked how we used a variety of textures to created the whole image. My picture specifically was really cool to make because I had many different pieces to “assemble” the puzzle with to create one whole piece of the plate.

Artists Collaborate/Community:

Did you ask another student for feedback during your work process?

During my spinoff of my Liz Lots piece, I decided to make a small basket with a handle. I created the template so that the two opposite sides were longer than the other sides and they connected at the top when I folded them up. I tried to keep the process lines and belly out the sides of the pieces. Once I finished smoothing and joining everything the best I could, my basket still seemed like I needed to add something. Sarah gave me the suggestion of adding a butterfly to the spot where the handles were joined. I really liked how it turned out once I added this because it covered where I joined the clay, and it made the piece more unique.

Did someone help you understand important information or inspire you?

Continuing off of this, I tried to use colors throughout all of my Liz Lot pieces that were similar to each other and all flowed together. With the addition of the butterfly, I chose colors that reminded me of nature and “happy” colors that went along with the theme of my pieces. I glazed the opposite sides of each of my pieces different colors to add more colors to each one.

How did you participate as an art community member?

At the DSC field trip I learned really cool techniques not just for pottery, but also for 2D art. I know learned new ideas for watercolors and how to create really interesting pieces with simple and basic ideas.

Leave a Reply