Glazing & 2D Art

 

2D Art:

Pottery is all about building things and doing 3D work, but the 2D aspect is super important for this. All of our sketches are the basis for all of our pieces, and being able to do 2D work is a skill that’s important. I loved making this because it was super fun to draw whatever we wanted and color it. When I made this it was interesting to just experiment with all of the colors and just see what came to mind when I started drawing. I was really surprised with how it turned out and like drawing so I had fun doing this.-

Glazing :

Glazing my Liz Lotz pieces was super fun to do because there were so many different pieces of the pots to add different colors to. I was able to glaze the outside with “midnight blue” and the inside with “maize.” I really like these colors together because they compliment each other well. For my main piece, I did the same idea of a basket, but I added a butterfly on top of it. I used a blue and magenta color because those colors are super happy colors and remind me of summer. I was really happy with how these turned out, and want to do something like this in the future.

Leave a Reply